Who were the Working Group?

The Cathedral Working Group was established by the Government and the Anglican (Diocese of Christchurch) Church Property Trustees in June 2016 to investigate and recommend a viable way to reinstate Christ Church Cathedral. It produced the Cathedral Working Group Recommendation Report (November 2016), which recommended reinstatement. The group ceased on 7 December 2016.

The group was made up of two trustees from the Church Property Trust, one from the Great Christchurch Buildings Trust, and two Government-appointed independent members, including the chair.

The Cathedral Working Group members were:

  • Geoff Dangerfield (Chair)
  • Sue McKenzie
  • Alasdair Cassels
  • Steve Wakefield
  • Roger Bridge


This website is owned and managed by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.